I really like this, although this is too saucy. I never used to like cauliflower and broccoli but I think I would rate them among my favourite vegetables. Especially when it is smothered in cheesy sauce.

Yes that is a baked sweet potato on the counter.

050.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint of milk (half my 2pinter) 50p
  • 300g cheddar cheese (more if you’re me) £1.50 (estimated cost)
  • 75g flour 2p
  • 50g butter 20p
  • Salt, Pepper (2p)

Method:

  • Boil cauliflower for a couple of minutes add broccoli boil for another minute. Don’t overdo it otherwise it will become sloppy, don’t forget it is going in the oven too.
  • Melt butter, gradually stir in flour over a low heat cooking it out. Posh people call it a roux.
  • You are meant to warm the milk but I never have, gradually add it to the roux and stir it in. Add half of the cheese, allow it to melt and stir it in.
  • Put veg in a dish and cover with the cheese sauce. Grate over remaining cheese.
  • Put in a hot oven for 15 minutes or so.

Serves:

I tend to have it as a side dish but I know my side portions are most people’s main meal. I got 4 portions out of that huge dish.

Good with:

  • Roast
  • Gammon
  • Bacon
  • Garlic Bread
  • Jacket Potato/Sweet Potato

Washing up: A bit horrible on that oven dish in truth. Cheesy things need cleaning properly and can stick if burnt.

Slimming World: Nope, not for you.

 

 

